Falafels

20 Dic

I love any type of street food, but I’ve had to learn to make my own sometimes because the original versions are not suitable for vegetarians.

Thankfully, falafels are great right from the start.  I had my first official falafels when I traveled to Israel.  They eat them inside a pita bread as a sandwich.  You then add tahini sauce, a tomato/cucumber salad and any extra fixings you desire.  We only ate falafels for lunch for a whole week… 

This is my friend’s Rosani recipe, but we collaborated.  We used chickpea or garbanzo flour to avoid using canned chickpeas or having to soak and cook the chickpeas first.  As I’ve said, we’re busy vegetarian girls… we love our shortcuts.  And did I mention we also love our fried foods?

 p1010845.jpg

FALAFELS

1 1/2 cups chickpea or garbanzo flour
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tablespoons flat leaf parsley, chopped
4 cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of black pepper
1 teaspoon of cumin
1 tablespoon of water – if needed
Canola oil for frying
  1. Place the chickpea flour, onion, parsley and garlic cloves in the bowl of a food processor.  Process a bit until blended, but not pureed. 
  2. Add the baking powder, salt, pepper, cumin.  Pulse a bit.
  3. If the mixture is too dry, add water and process until mixture becomes a small ball . If not dry,  skip right over to next step.
  4. Let the mixture rest for 30 minutes.
  5. Form the chickpea mixture into balls about the size of walnuts.  Let them dry up a bit while the oil reaches temperature.
  6. p1010816.jpg
  7. In a large skillet, heat up canola oil at medium heat and fry falafels until golden brown.  It’s important not to have the oil too hot, because the falafel will brown, but not cook inside.  We want the whole falafel to the thoroughly cooked.

 p1010823.jpg                p1010822.jpg

Enjoy the falafels inside a pita bread and tahini sauce.  Or enjoy them as appetizers with a tamarind sauce or mango chutney.  As soon as I find tamarinds or tamarind puree, I’ll show you how to do it.

3 respuestas to “Falafels”

  1. Angela diciembre 20, 2007 a 4:09 pm #

    there’s a lebanese restaurant in st. louis, mo that makes the greatest falafels ever! all you do is soak the chickpeas overnight (no cooking required), then process them with onion, garlic, parsley, sumac powder, s&p, and enough besan to hold it together….my brother, sister & i made them for our modified Thanksgiving dinner, and they were great!

  2. karmafreecooking diciembre 20, 2007 a 6:57 pm #

    Hey Angela – I like your version a lot… I just wonder – what’s sumac powder and besan?? I am not familiar with those…

    Madelyn.

  3. fallenangel65 diciembre 20, 2007 a 8:32 pm #

    These little jewels are one of the reasons I miss NYC so much. I used to love getting them from a vendor without the pita, just some tahini and hotsauce. I have only found one place here that makes them, and I think they do it from a mix and have never heard of tahini.

    Great recipe – thanks!

Deja un comentario