Brown Rice Krispies Treats

19 Dic

This is my Xmas present to all my vegetarian friends.

I’ve always been a fan of Rice Krispies Treats but they’re made with marshmallows, which are made with egg whites. This version is a mixture of a bunch of recipes I found on the Internet. And I even made a few adaptations of my own.

I hope you and the rest of my friends enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making them.

 rice-krispies-muchos-2.jpg

BROWN RICE KRISPIES TREATS

1 cup light corn syrup with brown sugar (Karo brand)
1 cup almond butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
6 cups brown puffed rice krispies
1 cup carob chips
  1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, mix together the sugar, corn syrup and almond butter until their all pretty warm, mixed together and syrupy.
  2. Remove from heat and pour in the puffed rice cereal. Stir well until all the cereal is covered in the sticky mixture. This is where going to the gym will some in handy…
  3. After all the mixture is combined, stir in the carob chips. They’ll melt a bit, but that’s part of the charm, in my humble opinion.
  4. Pour mixture into a greased 9 x 13 glass dish. I greased using my Canola Oil Spray.
  5. Spray your hands with the Canola Oil Spray too and press flat.
  6. Let cool for 1 hour before cutting into squares. Don’t put in the refrigerator, it gets rock hard there. I had a tough time cutting it.

Makes 18 nicely sized squares.

8 comentarios to “Brown Rice Krispies Treats”

  1. Alison b. diciembre 20, 2007 a 4:11 pm #

    Forgive my ignorance, but is there a reason vegan and vegetarians don’t eat chocolate? I have a vegetarian niece who is working towards becoming vegan, and I seem to keep making mistakes regarding her diet when we have family get-togethers.

  2. karmafreecooking diciembre 20, 2007 a 6:46 pm #

    Don’t worry Alison,

    The main reason I know why vegetarians and vegans don’t eat chocolate is because it contains high levels of caffeine – as much as coffee. Caffeine, being a stimulant that affects your nervous system, is not a food or ingredient that contributes a whole lot to someone’s health and well-being.

    I also heard stories about chocolate companies using animal products to manufacture chocolate… but I have no first hand knowledge on that one…

    Carob is a product very similar to chocolate, and when it’s well made, you would not even notice the difference. When I travel to NYC I usually bring bars of carob from natural health food stores over there, which tend to have a wider variety than what I can find locally in Puerto Rico.

  3. Fiendclub diciembre 20, 2007 a 7:49 pm #

    Most american chocolate is made with milk. Duh.

  4. nerdling diciembre 20, 2007 a 10:26 pm #

    As a note, we don’t all avoid chocolate. Dark chocolate (that is made without any milk products) is generally suitable for vegans, but many people have allergies or sensitivities that prompt them to use carob instead. Myself, I have a number of chocolate producers that I like and purchase from to use in my baking.

    (P.S. When looking at ingredients in chocolate, cocoa butter is safe for vegans, being not butter at all, but items like whey are not.)

  5. Hillary diciembre 20, 2007 a 11:52 pm #

    Interesting take on rice krispie treats – I love it! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  6. Carrie diciembre 21, 2007 a 12:59 am #

    Actually, chocolate is made with milk. Vegans can eat carob or dark chocolate, but not milk chocolate. Nothing to do with caffeine.

  7. Ana diciembre 21, 2007 a 1:07 am #

    Actually, marshmallow has gelatin in it, which is why vegetarians and vegans won’t eat it. Vegans and vegetarians usually will eat chocolate, but for vegans it has to be chocolate without milk in it.🙂 The krispies look delicious though. I’m going to try making some this weekend!

  8. karmafreecooking diciembre 21, 2007 a 3:28 am #

    Thanks guys…

    Ana – you’re right. Marshmallows are indeed made with gelatin. I saw Tyler Florence’s recipe on TV and I remembered the egg whites, but forgot they also have gelatin in them.

    Carrie – Thanks for letting me know about the milk in chocolate being the reason why vegans don’t consume certain chocolates. I guess I was just expressing the main reason I don’t have chocolate.

Responder

Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de WordPress.com

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de WordPress.com. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: