Hazelnut Praline

7 Mar

I have been meaning to share with you some desserts, but I wanted to make them with Almonds.  Every-time I go to the market, I forget to buy them.  If I don’t write it, I will never remember it.

Then the other day I was reorganizing my fridge (in preparation to my upcoming trip to Costco) and I found along lost bag of shelled hazelnuts.  My dear mom helped me shell these hazelnuts I bought before Xmas and I never got to eat and they were sitting, very unassumingly, in this ziplock bag in the back of my fridge… how about Hazelnut Praline!!!  I am sure it will taste fantastic too.  It did…

 p1030072.jpg                

HAZELNUT PRALINE

1/2 cup shelled hazelnuts
1 tbs maple sugar
1 1/2 tbs maple syrup
  1.  I like to start with peeled hazelnuts.  I think the taste of the nut comes across better when the little skin is taken off.  So to do this with hazelnuts, I roasted them for a little while in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes.  They’ll start to smell a bit.
  2. Then place them in a clean kitchen towel and scrub them all together.  Most of the skins will come off.  Some I had to peel a bit of my hands.  Wait a bit until the nuts cool down some.  You don’t need to get your fingers burned.
  3.  p1030076.jpg
  4. Cut the hazelnuts in a smaller pieces.  I used a serrated knife and it worked very well.  The nuts did not fly all across the cutting board.
  5. Mix the nuts in a medium bowl with the maple syrup and maple sugar.  Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet and bake in a 350F oven for about 12 minutes.  I try not to leave the kitchen because nuts tend to burn fast and remember, you may have already roasted them a bit already to skin them.
  6. When they’re done, they’ll smell really sweet and nutty delicious.
  7. Be careful taking them out of the oven, but transfer then to a metal dish right away to help them cool off.  I sometimes put the nuts in the fridge to help keep them away from the humidity we always have here in PR.

p1030085.jpg

Snap the nuts loose and eat them alone as a snack or sprinkle them over your favorite dessert.  I particularly enjoyed them today with my Roasted Pears with Blue Cheese.

3 comentarios to “Hazelnut Praline”

  1. Deborah marzo 8, 2008 a 12:15 pm #

    Oh, it sounds delicious!

  2. LisaRene abril 17, 2008 a 1:03 am #

    Great tip about the serrated knife, I always end up with nuts flying all over the place🙂

    I’m a huge nut eater and would happily make a dinner of your nuts with the roasted pears and blue cheese.

  3. karmafreecooking abril 17, 2008 a 10:19 am #

    LisaRene – I think I did make this my dinner once… It was delicious!!! Hope you try it soon. It’s super simple.

Responder

