Are there any Rice Cookers without Aluminum Insert???

9 Ene

I posted this question a few days ago in a blog I quite enjoy visiting and commenting in – Serious Eats. It’s not vegetarian, that’s why is not part of my BlogRoll.

Since I became a vegetarian, I was told how hazardous to our health was to cook on aluminum – cookware or foil. So, when I moved by myself and was buying all my kitchen stuff, I bought all stainless steel pots and pans. To me, it was something easy to do and would in the long run, not compromise my health.

However, I have not been able to replace my rice cooker. My rice cooker has been with me since 1992. My mom gave it to me as a present when I moved to Chicago for grad school. I have made any kind of rice you can imagine there – white rice, now wholegrain brown rice, rice with corn, rice with vienna sausages, now rice with tofu dogs, rice and vegetables, you name it… So I posted a question onto the Serious Eats TALK section to see if someone more foodie than I am could help me locate the rice cooker of my dreams – without the aluminum insert.

The responses have been many. But what surprised me most is that people were asking me WHY I wanted to eradicate cooking in aluminum. I guess thats one of the by-products of these community blogs where people share their opinions rather than aswering the question at hand… and even though I was surprised, I am also glad because the question sparked a discussion on the pros and cons of the different cookware and their health risks, if any.

My position and recommendation – to avoid using aluminum when cooking. Aluminum has been associated with the development of Alzheimer’s Disease, osteporosis/softening of the bones, imparied kidney functions, memory loss, among others. My POV – if changing my pots and pans can help avoid these risks in any way… why not do it???

I use now stainless steel, glass, pyrex to cook. I line baking sheets with silplat or unbleached parchment paper. I confess, I use aluminum foil sparingly, just because of the convenience.

I included a link to my question in Serious Eats and let me know what’s your POV… and if you know of any rice cookers without aluminum inserts… I will really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

8 comentarios to “Are there any Rice Cookers without Aluminum Insert???”

  1. Tracy enero 9, 2008 a 4:31 pm #

    Hi! Congratulations for becoming vegetarian!!🙂

    I’d never heard anything negative about cooking with aluminum, but as you said, if you want to avoid it, then other people shouldn’t care.

    I’d suggest posting your question at VeganRepresent.com. There are a lot of nice, knowledgeable people on that site, and hopefully one of them can help you.

    Tracy

  2. freshhell enero 9, 2008 a 4:33 pm #

    What an interesting conversation! Thanks for posting this. I, too, cook LOTS of rice (my kids apparently can’t live without it) in my old rice cooker which does have an aluminum insert. I’ve never worried too much about this issue – I have plenty to worry about already with kids – but it was nice to see it debunked. Maybe. Anyway, love this blog and your recipes – I’ve been vegetarian (but not vegan) for 20 years. I’m raising my children vegetarian, too.

  3. fallenangel65 enero 9, 2008 a 11:06 pm #

    I have heard varying information about aluminum and my pov is if you can do away with using it regardless of whether it is a huge risk or not, than why not? I still use pyrex, cast iron, and stainless steel. I do still have some really old aluminum bread loaf pans that were my mom’s but I rarely use them. I have also switched from using regular deodorant to the crystal – why? Because of the aluminum in the regular product.

    I have an auto immune disease so anywhere I can cut out environmental toxins, I do.

  4. fallenangel65 enero 9, 2008 a 11:12 pm #

    PS – Have you tried Basamati Rice? While it is a white rice – it is very healthy and easy to cook without a rice cooker. I can’t cook brown rice or short grain white rice without a cooker – but I can make perfect basamati every time and it smells amazing.

  5. Dirk enero 10, 2008 a 2:11 pm #

    I can’t remember what brand it is, but at home I have an electronic vegetable steamer with a rice cooker insert – all plastic, and it works wonderful.

  6. karmafreecooking enero 21, 2008 a 6:27 am #

    JS: Thank you!!!1 Thank you!!!! Thank you!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!

    This is exactly what I have been looking for… I was sure I could not be the only one to have thought about it.

    You rock!!!!!!!

  7. SensRule92 febrero 22, 2008 a 10:24 pm #

    Thanks to both of you…i had the same concerns recently and my internet search turned up this blog and the recommendation…i’ll be buying one as well

Responder

