Vegetarian “Chicken” Nuggets

8 Ene

When I decided to become vegetarian, I was clear and sure I did not want to constantly eat food that resembled the animal products I was consciously not going to eat.  And even more,  I was never a fan of traditional chicken nuggets when I was not vegetarian.  So when I was offered to try vegetarian “chicken” nuggets I was not interested.  My friend insisted in buying me a bag to try…  and the rest is history.

This is not something I eat frequently.  But there are some times you want a snack, something to nibble on – you know, the munchies…  and when that time comes, these veggie nuggets usually hit the spot.  Here’s a photo of the packaging for your reference.

 nuggets-1.jpg

They’re super easy to make.  I just put them in a sheet pan sprayed with some canola oil spray and into a 400 degree toaster oven.  In 15 minutes or less, you’ll have crispy and tasty veggie nuggets.  Enjoy them on their own or with MayoKetchup sauce for dipping. 

 nuggets-2.jpg          nuggets-3.jpg

The catch… I have to buy them when I travel to NYC’s Chinatown.  I have not seen them anywhere else. 

3 comentarios to “Vegetarian “Chicken” Nuggets”

  1. jonsquared enero 8, 2008 a 2:50 am #

    I was vegetarian for 4 years, and one of the dilemmas I did face was a hankering for chicken, and these veggie versions certainly fit the bill. The only concern that I have is the sodium content in many of these artificial products. Apart from that, you are correct in that they certainly hit the spot. Cheers!

  2. karmafreecooking enero 9, 2008 a 3:56 pm #

    I hear you jonsquared… These nuggets are egg-free, alcohol-free, no MSG and made out of soy protein and a lot of seasonings. Among those, sodium – yes. They’re not something to eat every day, but when you have the munchies, they are certainly good.

  3. Andrea enero 19, 2008 a 4:23 pm #

    These sound great, but where can I get them in China town? I’ve been vegetarian for 25 years (since I was 14), and I’m always looking for new things to try.

Responder

